TEF Recognizes New Teacher Awards

Each year, the Tuscaloosa Education Foundation recognizes an elementary, middle and high school teacher in each system that is new to the profession.

Each recipient receives $150 toward their classroom set up for the new year. Due to COVID-19 and the New Teacher Orientation sessions being virtual, the teachers were chosen randomly from a list provided by the System HR Office. Dr. Boman surprised them at their school prior to the beginning of school. Congratulations to our award winners and thank you for choosing the teaching profession!

The new teacher recipients are pictured above and are as follows:

  • Lauren Perkins, Oakdale Elementary School

  • Andrew Robertson, Northridge Middle School

  • Sean Gibson, Northridge High School

  • Michaela Woday, Big Sandy Elementary School

  • Scott Miller, Echols Middle School

  • Samantha Day, Tuscaloosa County High School


The mission of the Tuscaloosa Education Foundation is to provide support and financial resources to enhance public education through a partnership with local school systems.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • White Twitter Icon


P. O. Box 2491
Tuscaloosa, Alabama 35403

T: 205-792-0077

E: tboman@tuscaloosaeducationfoundation.org

© 2020 by Tuscaloosa Education Foundation, Inc.
Proudly designed by Cartogaphy Consulting.